WASHINGTON, September 5 — The bottom line for travelers: the price of expedited U.S. border entry is going up, and the banks are following suit. Global Entry, the Customs and Border Protection program that fast-tracks international arrivals for pre-approved travelers, will raise its application fee starting October 1, 2024. The increase moves the five-year membership cost from $100 to $120 — a shift that has already triggered a cascade of adjustments across the credit card industry.
By the numbers, the new fee structure represents a meaningful jump for a program widely considered a valuable travel benefit. Citi moved first.
The issuer announced it will adjust its statement credit benefit on the Citi® / AAdvantage® Executive World Legend Mastercard® and the Citi Prestige® Card — though the latter is closed to new applicants. Citi’s updated offer: up to $120 in statement credits, available every four years, effective October 1, 2024. Chase followed five days later with a matching adjustment.
The issuer will provide up to $120 in statement credits on the same four-year cycle, also taking effect October 1, 2024. Barclays is making a change on one card, though the specific product was not disclosed.
American Express, Capital One, and PenFed have likewise adjusted their Global Entry benefits to align with the higher fee, according to the source material. The exact terms and effective dates for these three issuers were not specified.
What Cardholders Should Watch
The figure that matters for families: minor children currently ride free. Under existing policy, travelers under 18 accompanying a parent or guardian who holds Global Entry may use the arrival lanes at no charge when traveling together. The source material does not indicate whether this policy will change after the October 1, 2024 effective date.
Investors will note the competitive dynamic here. Citi’s first-mover position, followed by Chase’s rapid response, suggests issuers view this benefit as table stakes for premium card products.
The speed of alignment across six major players — Citi, Chase, Barclays, American Express, Capital One, and PenFed — underscores how tightly the travel rewards market is contested. The adjustments mean eligible cardholders can continue accessing Global Entry without out-of-pocket cost, preserving the program’s value proposition despite the fee increase. For consumers, the practical impact is neutralized — provided they hold the right plastic.
What Follows
What to watch next: whether the minor-accompaniment policy shifts, and whether any issuer breaks from the four-year cycle pattern Citi and Chase have established. The source material, drawn from a credit card information website that includes an advertiser disclosure noting it may receive compensation from card issuers, does not address either question.





